Marita Kresge
Office Coordinator
Commission Secretary
Send an Email
Phone: 732-493-9520
FAX: 732-493-9521
1540 West Park Avenue
Ocean Township, NJ


History of MCRHC No. 1

An excerpt from the 1937 Sixtieth Annual Report of the Department of Health of the State of New Jersey reads….

“In Monmouth County such a unit was organized to include the City of Long Branch, the Township of Ocean, the Boroughs of West Long Branch, Oceanport, Monmouth Beach and later, Sea Bright.

The health officer employed by the City of Long Branch was appointed Health Officer of the unit.

Another unit in Monmouth County, of which the health officer of Asbury Park, Ocean Grove and the Boroughs of Deal, Allenhurst and Interlaken.”

The Monmouth County Regional Health Commission No. 1 was officially organized in the year 1936 as the Monmouth County Local Health Unit No. 2, and then reorganized in 1938 under P. L. 1938, Chapter 67 and pursuant to N. J. S. A. Title 26 – Health and Vital Statistics as the Monmouth County Regional Health Commission No. 1. During the intervening years, legislation has been enacted twice which changed the original statute; once via P. L. 1951, Chapter 69 et seq. and the last time via P. L. 1970 et seq. Under these statutes local boards of health can, by resolution, participate in an association which consists of members of each participating local board of health. Each town’s local board of health remains in existence and retains jurisdiction in their respective municipalities, with the Regional Commission exercising enforcement and supervisory powers. The membership of the MCRHC No. 1 consists of one Commissioner and one alternate from each member town’s local board of health or local governing body in the absence of a local board of health (appointed or elected in accordance with the rules of each respective participating board of health). At present the sixteen (16) member towns, participating in the Commission are: Allenhurst, Brielle, Deal, Fair Haven,Interlaken, Little Silver, Loch Arbour,  Middletown,  Monmouth Beach,  Rumson, Sea Bright, Sea Girt,  Spring Lake, Spring Lake Heights, and Tinton Falls .

As stated in the MCRHC No. 1’s Governance Manual (most recent revision dated December 2021), the Commission shall establish policy, review and approve procedures and be responsible to the participating communities for proper, effective oversight, administration and management of all the organization’s operations. In compliance with New Jersey law, the Commission employs a licensed Health Officer and other required professional and administrative personnel. The Health Officer shall be responsible for carrying out the rules and regulations of the Commission and shall enforce all federal, state and local public health laws, codes, regulations and ordinances.