

## MONMOUTH COUNTY REGIONAL HEALTH COMMISSION NO. 1

1540 WEST PARK AVE., TINTON FALLS, NJ 07724

www.mcrhc.org

Press Release Contact: David Henry Phone: 732-493-9520 February 11, 2020

## Monmouth County Regional Health Commission No. 1 is awarded funds to detect and respond to communicable disease outbreaks

The Monmouth County Regional Health Commission No. 1 (MCRHC) was awarded \$95,000 to create a communicable disease "strike team" whom will better detect and respond to communicable disease outbreaks in the county.

Health Officer David Henry said, "The funding gives us the opportunity to provide enhanced services to our community because it gives us the resources to respond quicker, provide more prevention tools and education to the schools, long-term care facilities, and allows us to work closely with our towns."

The strike team is made of public health nurses, an acting epidemiologist, communicable disease investigators, and a regional health educator. It is based on the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and NJ Department of Health guidelines. MCRHC has already worked on a dozen disease outbreaks since December 2019 and is currently monitoring the Novel Coronavirus outbreak.

MCRHC is working with local hospitals, community organizations and public health partners in helping to develop healthier communities and to help prevent the spread of communicable diseases like the influenza, measles, meningitis, pertussis and others.

Of the 73 health departments in New Jersey, MCRHC was one of 21 that received the grant funds. As the premier regional public health agency in Monmouth County, MCRHC continues to use their 84 years of shared services expertise to provide communicable disease investigations and health education services to their 19 towns. For more information, visit <u>www.mcrhc.org</u>.

## ##

The Monmouth County Regional Health Commission provides shared public health services to nineteen (19) towns: Allenhurst, Brielle, Deal, Fair Haven, Interlaken, Little Silver, Loch Arbour, Middletown, Monmouth Beach, Ocean Township, Red Bank, Rumson, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Shrewsbury, Spring Lake, Spring Lake Heights, Tinton Falls, and West Long Branch.